follow us on twitter


Championships at County Louth Golf Club

The Club’s flagship event, the ‘East of Ireland’, is a national championship set up by the Club and the Golfing Union of Ireland in 1941. The first event was won by the legendary Irish amateur Joe Carr who went on to win a further eleven times. Darren Clarke won the Championship in 1989 prior to turning professional. The event is competed for annually in June by the top amateurs from the national and international scene.

Other prestigious events held in recent years at County Louth are:

  • 2003 - The Vagliano Trophy, when the Great Britain & Ireland team took the honours
  • 2004 - The Nissan Irish Open, victory going to Australian professional Brett Rumford
  • 2009 - The ‘3’ Irish Open which had a fairy tale ending, with Irish amateur Shane Lowry eventually emerging as victor
  • 2010 - Regional Qualifying for the British Open
  • 2012 - The Irish Ladies Close Championship (won by Leona Maguire) & The Boys Home Internationals
  • 2017 - The Irish Women's Open Stroke Play Championship; played for the Garvey/Reddan trophy, inaugurated in 2017 to celebrate the achievements of Co. Louth club members Philomena Garvey and Clarrie Reddan.