The land was first discovered By Messrs Pentland & Gilroy back in 1892. They had already laid out some holes at nearby Mornington but one day rowed across the river only to discover what was later proclaimed “One of the best pieces of golfing ground in the world”. The course was sculpted, encapsulating the natural beauty of the surrounding terrain. After a meeting in 1892, the club was formally founded and began to grow in popularity.
It wasn’t until the mid-thirties, when Tom Simpson cast his spell, that County Louth Golf Club earned its championship status. The new course was opened in 1938 by Irish Open Champion James Bruen. Despite some refinements and the repositioning of the clubhouse, much of Simpson’s work is still recognisable today. In more recent years, continued refinement work has taken place under the direction of Donald Steel and Tom Mackenzie, presenting the course we know today.


County Louth Golf Club is steeped in history, having hosted a number of major titles and producing many worthy champions over the years. Perhaps the most notable of late was when, then amateur, Shane Lowry won the 2009 Irish Open title. Winning a National title as an amateur is a legendary tale, now etched into Irish golfing history.

While County Louth Golf Club has hosted a number of large professional events, it is perhaps most well-known for being the home of the annual East of Ireland Amateur Championship. The Championship, set up by the club and the Golfing Union, was first played in 1941 and has been held at the club ever since. It was won in 1941 by Joe Carr, who went on to win a further eleven times. There have been many prestigious winners over the years including Ryder Cup Star Darren Clarke, who was victorious in 1989.

The Club is currently committed to a 5 year deal to host the Irish Amateur Women’s Open Stroke Play Championship, whose trophy has recently been renamed in honour of Clarrie Reddan & Philomena Garvey.
Local Legends Amateur

It was the Ladies who first brought great honour to the club, namely Mrs Clarrie Reddan who won an Irish Title in 1938. Two years later, she became the first Irishwoman to be selected for the Curtis Cup team, winning both of her matches. She was selected again in 1948, along with member Philomena Garvey, who went on to make six appearances. Philomena gained further honours; a victory at the British Ladies and a grand total of 15 Irish championships. The ladies success did not stop there. The club has since gone on to produce 4 more lady Irish International players: M Earner, Oonagh Purfield, Jenny Gannon and Deirdre Smith. Deirdre won the Irish Amateur Women’s Close Championship in 2004.
There have also been triumphs for the men, with Mark Gannon winning the National title in 1977. The men have had their fair share of International caps with Mark Gannon, Barry Reddan and Simon Ward all representing their country.  Since its foundation in 1941, a total of 4 of our members have gone on to win the East of Ireland Championship: Kevin Garvey, Mark Gannon, Barry Reddan & Finbarr Ronan.

Perhaps the most successful home grown club member of all has been resident Head Professional Paddy McGuirk. Paddy started the game at a young age under the tutelage of his father, who had also been Head Professional at County Louth G.C. He is the only home-grown member of the club to have served his time on the European tour over a span of 6 years, the highlight of which was undoubtedly winning the Carroll’s International in 1973. The tournament has since been replaced by the Irish Open. Paddy has also picked up several other regional titles including the Irish Matchplay Championship (twice) and the Irish PGA Championship.
County Louth GC has also become home to Ryder Cup star Des Smyth. Des began his golfing career in nearby Laytown & Bettystown GC and having moved to live in the village of Baltray in 1991, he became a member. Since then, he has achieved great success on tour and was awarded an Honorary Membership of the club. He still competes on tour and is regularly seen practising at the club.